



Nazi Party

(*Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiterpartei;* National Socialist German Workers' Party), German political party founded on January 5, 1919. The Nazi Party was an outgrowth of the Political Workers' Circle, a small, extremely antisemitic right-wing group that began meeting in November 1918. In 1919 the circle developed into the German Workers' Party; this was the first time that the ideology of National Socialism was touted by an official political party. Adolf Hitler joined the party that same year.

In early 1920 the party was renamed the National Socialist German Workers' Party; in 1921 Hitler became the party's undisputed leader. The party was banned in 1923 when Hitler attempted to take over the Bavarian government and failed. It was revitalized in February 1925.

The Nazi Party structure was based on then *fuehrerprinzip*, or leadership principle. At the heart of the party stood extreme antisemitism and racist ideology. Hitler was the *Fuehrer*, the ultimate, authoritarian party leader. The party was managed by 18 high-ranking officials and 32 territorial party leaders; sub-organizations associated with the party included the Storm Troopers (SA), the SS, the *Hitlerjugend* youth movement, and worker and teacher unions. The Nazi Party multiplied exponentially during its years of existence, growing from 6,000 members in 1922 to 8.5 million in 1945.